Showing results 1 to 2 of 2
Brownsea Island Church

Brownsea Island Church

Museum Ref No: AH_Eastern_View_of_Church_and_Memorial_Wellhead
Postcard showing an eastern view of St. Mary's Church which was built by Colonel Waugh in 1853. On this eastern side there is a c.16th wellhead of italian marble marking the resting place of George Augustus Cavendish Bentinck and his wife Prudence Penelope erected in 1891. Produced by Sieger and Delpool Cards. Photo copyright S. Sieger. From the Andrew Hawkes collection. For commercial use please contact the copyright holder
Water supply

Water supply

Museum Ref No: F1j_0002
The early 19th century clay drinking water pipe found on the site of the Telephone Exchange; but an earlier type of watermain, a hollowed tree trunk, was found in 1958 in West Shore Road. These pipes had in turn conveyed drinking water from the well which formerly stood at Tatnam. The Borough still holds a charter from Henry VIII dated 1542 granting the right to use this well, a photo of which is shown. Few houses could boast a piped supply and many were supplied by a water cart. Others depended upon pumps, notably those at Tropp's Corner and the Quay opposite the Town Cellars.